Present Members:

Donald J. Robitaille, is in his sixth year on the Committee. Don was elected Chair in 2012. He is an Air Force veteran and a retired police captain from Chelsea Ma. He and his wife, Joanne, are full time Dennis Port residents and the extremely proud grandparents of 5 beautiful grandchildren. Don has a Masters Degree in Criminal Justice. He is currently the editor of DPRC website ( ). Prior to buying his present house in 1994, he had been vacationing in Dennis Port since 1976. Don is also past Vice Chair of the Road Safety Task Force, A past Commissioner with the Dennis Historical Commission and a past appointed director of the  Dennis Historical Society. He was also President of the South Side Civic Association for 4 years and maintains his association with SSCA. Don was also appointed to the first Dennis Tourism Committee and has since stepped down.


Pat Sakellis, Pat is from Western Ma and has lived in Dennis Port for the past 11 years.  She was in education for her working career as a teacher and special education administrator in Westfield Ma. Pat is married with two daughters and three grandchildren. She is also active in the Dennis Historical Society,  garden club, tennis and creative arts.


Robert Surrette, Bob grew up in Worcester, saw some of the world during seven years in the 1970’s thanks to the US Army, worked as an economist for the federal government in Washington DC for almost 30 years and washed ashore on the Cape on the Fourth of July 2011.He and his wife of more than 40 years, the former Joan O’Rourke of Montreal, live in Dennis Port; his daughter, Marie, lives near Princeton, NJ with Bob and Joan’s three precious grandchildren. Bob hopes to be of service to the people of Dennis and, more specifically Dennis Port, throughout his tenure on the Committee. He is also a member of the Dennis Tourism Committee and a volunteer for the Dennis Police Department.


Vana Trudeau was appointed to the DPRC on Sept. 24, 2013. “Although Vana Trudeau grew up on the other side of the bridge — the Bass
River Bridge that is — she has called Dennis home for the past 20+ years,
and Dennis Port for the past dozen years. In addition to being the founder and President of Essential Rentals, Inc., a full-service vacation equipment rental company, she is also a member of the adjunct faculty and Theatre Coordinator at Cape Cod Community College. A former co-chair of the Dennis Arts and Culture Committee and former member of the Dennis Beach Committee, Vana is pleased to have the opportunity to serve the Town as a member of the Dennis Port Revitalization Committee.”

Ned Chatelain just came aboard in February 2016 as our newest member. Ned is also Treasurer of the South Side Civic Association. Ned Chatelain is a Dennis Port native who, after a 12-year absence, moved back to town in 2013 to raise his two children – Sophia (3) and Sam (1) with his wife Kristin. He lives a short way from the village center, and he and his family can often be found playing at the playground, visiting the library, getting coffee at Buckies, or walking to the beach. He is a full-time Realtor and loves helping people find a place here on the Cape.

Jim Hardy was appointed in April 2016.  “Jim Hardy grew up in Dennis Port and South Dennis and graduated from Dennis – Yarmouth High School in 1985. He remembers Dennisport as a thriving community in the mid to late nineteen seventies and is thrilled to serve on the Revitalization Committee. Jim also graduated from Cape Cod Community College in 2006 and has plans to finish his Bachelor’s degree. He is employed in the D-Y School District as a substitute teacher and owns a small handyman services company here in Dennis.”

Ken VanTassell was appointed in April 2016. Ken grew up in the New York metropolitan area before moving to the Merrimack Valley of Massachusetts in 1985. Ken has vacationed in Dennis Port with his family since he was four months old, and is now proud to be a year round Dennis Port resident with his wife Kathy. While living in Chelmsford, Ken served as an adult volunteer with his son’s Boy Scout troop and on the Chelmsford Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee. In addition to the Dennis Port Revitalization Committee, Ken is a member of the Dennis Tourism Committee, the Dennis Historical Society and the Friends of the Cape Cod Rail Trail.



Past Members:
Carlyn M. Carey, Past Co-Chair. Carlyn has served on the Committee for 9 years.  After living and working in Washington, DC for almost 10 years, Carlyn returned to her hometown of Dennis Port in 2006.  Carlyn and her daughter Phebe (age 10) proudly represent multiple generations of Dennis Port residents.   Carlyn is Staff Attorney at The Cooperative Bank of Cape Cod. Carlyn took a temporary leave of absence effective April 1, 2012. Carlyn completed her leave and has resumed her commitment to the Committee as an alternate member and was reappointed on Sept. 24, 2013.
Henry G. Bowen, Past Co-Chair. Hank has served on the Committee for over 14 years. Before moving to Cape Cod, he frequently vacationed in Dennis Port. Remembering how the village was as a vibrant part of the Town of Dennis, Hank wants Dennis Port to once again achieve that status. Hank retired as Vice President of Sales Development for a major advertising firm based in Chicago. Hank is currently chairman of the Town of Dennis’ Road Safety Task Force and active in his church community. Hank stepped down after 14 dedicated years of service to the Committee in May 2016.

Thomas E. Huettner, Tom Huettner, Past Chair and Co-Chair:  Tom, a Dennis Port resident, is a partner in the landscape design firm Second Nature Gardenworks.  He is a mechanical engineer with graduate-level studies in architecture and alternative energy.  He is also trained as a community planner and a mediator, skills he puts to use in his work in human services and as a board member of the arts and theatre non-profit, Eventide Arts.  Tom serves on the Town of Dennis Road Safety Task Force and has served as Chair or Co-Chair of the Dennis Port Revitalization Committee for over 12 years. Due to work and other volunteer commitments Tom resigned from the Committee, effective May 31, 2013.


Fritz Lauenstein, Fritz is the owner of Fritz Glass at 36 Upper County Road, Dennis Port. Fritz started blowing glass in 1974 at Gould Academy in Bethel, Maine. He then attended Goddard College in Plainfield, Vermont and the Massachusetts College of Art in Boston, Massachusetts. Fritz Glass is a  family owned Cape Cod blown glass business at the same location since 1991 featuring the original creations of Fritz Lauenstein, one of America’s Premier Glass Artisans.
Irina MacPhee
Carolyn Bigelow
Alex P. Kennedy.
Colleen Leppanen.
Tony Noto.